Tags

, , , ,

It was a rainy Sunday yesterday so we went to The Guggenheim around mid day to check out an exhibition by Ernesto Neto for my birthday. By the time we got home it was quite late in the afternoon but I really fancied a Sunday Roast!

I know, I know…everyone will have their own way of cooking a roast chicken but I picked up this recipe from my Mama and she roasts the best chicken ever so I thought I’d share it.

20140324-182038.jpg
Ingredients
– a full chicken
– 4 cloves of garlic (minced)
– cracked black pepper (lots of it!)
– salt to taste
– olive oil
– butter…yes…a tsp of butter
– dried parsley

Method
1. In a pestle and mortar, mince the garlic together with the black pepper.
2. Combine 2 to 3 tbsp of olive oil, butter (room temperature) and the garlic & pepper mix in a bowl.
3. Rub generously on the chicken and marinade for 30 mins, or if you want, overnight.
4. Preheat oven to 180 degrees celcius and place the chicken in the middle of the oven.
5. Depending on the size of the chicken, I cooked mine for just over an hour. Keep checking if you are not sure. You will know it’s thoroughly cooked when if you pierce the chicken, the juices should run clear and the knive or fork should go through with ease.

I served it with a side salad, baked potato and gravy. I just used Bisto!

20140324-183537.jpg

20140324-183701.jpg

20140324-183717.jpg
All in all it was a perfect very late lunch and we had lots of leftovers for supper and my lunch today! Bonus!

And thanks to my husband, I got a Birthday Profiterole for afters, no birthday cakes for me. ๐Ÿ˜‹

20140324-184143.jpg
I will tell you more about where we bought the profiterole in my next post! Simply divine!

Happy Monday! ๐Ÿ˜Š

