Tags

, , , ,

When I was in my early 20’s, I went on a 3 week break with a couple of girlfriends to the coast of northern Tuscany in Italy. We stayed with friends up in the mountains in Pietrasanta where fire flies glowed at night and we cycled down to the beach in the mornings. We took day trips to Pisa, Viareggio, Forte dei Marmi, Florence & last but definitely not least…we walked through Cinque Terre where the coastal scenery was just breathtaking!

Since then, I have always loved Italian food. So for dinner last night I prepared a very simple pasta dish.

20140401-170253.jpg
Ingredients

• Tagliatelle
• 2 pieces of chicken breast (sliced)
• 3 cloves of garlic (minced)
• a handful of cherry tomatoes (halved)
• Fresh basil (according to your taste)
• 50ml single cream
• 1tsp tomato purée
• salt & cracked black pepper
• half tsp sugar (to break the acidity of the tomatoes)

Method
1. In a skillet, sauté the chopped garlic together with the sliced chicken. After about 5 mins, throw in the tomatoes. Cook this till the chicken is cooked and the tomatoes are very soft/broken.
2. Add the cream, tomato purée, basil, salt & cracked black pepper, sugar and simmer on a low heat.
3. Meanwhile in a saucepan, bring water to boil and drop the tagliatelle in. I bought the packet tagliatelle so it was ready in 4 mins.
4. Now, I learnt this from Jamie Oliver…add some of the boiling pasta water to the simmering sauce to loosen it up a little.

20140401-172036.jpg
5. Drain the pasta and stir in the sauce in the saucepan. Add a few more fresh basil and it’s ready to serve.

20140401-172253.jpg

Fresh, simple and does not take long to prepare at all! It made me want to travel to Italy again!

But perhaps next time I should plan on going to Sicily as that was where my late great-great grandfather was from. 😊🇮🇹

Happy cooking!

