Tags

, , ,

I was chatting with my cousin on whatsapp yesterday and she said, “Hold on, I’m going to heat up Mama’s bubur kacang.” I was almost drooling when she said that. Both my aunt and my mum make the most amazing bubur kacang.

Bubur kacang is a sweet, Malay and also an Indonesian dish that we usually have for afternoon tea, dessert…or anytime you want really! It is just super yummy!

“Bubur” means porridge and “kacang hijau” means green beans, better known as mung beans. You can’t really call it a porridge but that’s the direct translation anyway. So today, I went to the Chinese supermarket and got some mung beans. I was given the “agak agak” (estimate) measurements from my cousin so I gave it a shot…

20140416-173514.jpg
Ingredients
• 200gm mung beans
• 1 litre water
• 150ml coconut milk
• 3 tbsp muscovado or brown sugar (as I had no access to palm sugar)
• half tsp salt

Method
1. Soak the mung beans in water for at least 2 hours before cooking (although, when I spoke to my mum today, she said soaking them was optional)
2. Simmer the mung beans in water until they are soft and breaking up a little. Add more water if you need to.
3. Add the coconut milk, sugar, salt and simmer for another 15 mins or until the mixture thickens just slightly.

20140416-174618.jpg

Serve warm.

20140416-174731.jpg

I am having it as I write this post and I must say, it is yummy! Sweet, simple & brings back memories of being in Singapore again!

Do give it a go and enjoy! 😋

The recipe serves 6.

(Feel free to adjust the quantity of sugar, I like my sweets not too sweet.)

