Tags

,

A few weeks ago, while buying my poultry and meat, the butcher suggested I made Chicken Tagine using a spice that he sells. I had never cooked a Tagine before and didn’t have all the ingredients to hand like saffron threads, preserved lemons or olives. So, I improvised and made my own version of a Chicken Tagine…

20140505-144553.jpg
Ingredients
(I apologise for the no measurements ☺️)
• Chicken thighs & drumsticks
• Garlic (minced)
• Ginger
• White onion (diced)
• Tinned Chickpeas
• Tomatoes (roughly chopped)
• Okras
• Cilantro (chopped)
• Parsley (chopped)
• Juice of half a lemon
• Ras El Hanout Spice

20140505-145629.jpg

20140505-145654.jpg
I am sure this spice can be purchased easily.

Method
1. In a hot saucepan, add a good drizzle of olive oil and brown the chicken for 5 mins. To that, add the onions, garlic and ginger, sauté till the onions are clear.
2. Add the tomatoes, the Ras El Hanout spice, lemon juice and some water. Let this simmer on a low heat for 10 mins.
3. Throw in the parsley, cilantro and chickpeas and leave to simmer for 20 mins. Stirring occasionally.
4. Once the chickpeas are very soft, add the okras and leave to simmer till cooked.
5. Add salt and pepper to taste and you are ready to serve.

Garnish with cilantro and serve with rice or a warm Moroccan bread.

20140505-150806.jpg

20140505-150833.jpg
Ok, I don’t know if you can actually call this a Tagine but it was really good and very Tagine-like!

Again, I apologise for the “no measurements”…but go on, try it, experiment! Cook it with your heart!💓

Have a happy week ahead!!! 😊

