Tags

, , , , ,

I have been meaning to post the recipe for these delightful sweet that is usually served at Eid in every Malay household. Eid is just not Eid without them despite how time consuming they are to make. I remember as a child, my aunt would make hundreds of them and she would start making them at least a week before Eid. My cousins and I would help her fill the tarts with the pineapple jam while listening to Eid songs. Fond memories I’ll cherish forever!

So this year seeing as it was just my husband and I, I decided, for the first time in my life to make the tarts…but…did I make them a week before Eid? Nope. It was all a last minute decision, I made them the day BEFORE Eid!!πŸ˜‘ It was not a good idea at the time seeing as I didn’t have the proper cutters for them…so I ended up using my Churro maker by using the flat jaggy nozzle! With the help of my husband piping the pastry and me rolling the jam into the pastry, we succeeded!

IMG_6600.JPG

Ingredients
for the pineapple jam…
β€’ 2 fresh pineapples
β€’ 1 and a half cup caster sugar
β€’ Cinnamon stick

Method
1. Cut the pineapples but leave out the core. Make sure you don’t have any of the black bits from the skin left on the pineapple. Carve them out.
2. Grate the pineapples in a large bowl.

IMG_6935.JPG
3. Now, separate the juice by using a sieve. Set the juice aside for now as you will need it while making the jam.

IMG_6936.JPG
4. Place the grated pineapples along with the sugar and cinnamon stick in a saucepan and cook on a high heat. Stirring continously.

IMG_6938.JPG
5. Once you see it bubbling, add some of the juice little by little and cook till it evaporates and the pineapples are all sticky.

IMG_6546.JPG
6. The pineapple jam should be left to cool completely so best to make it the day before you’re making the pineapple tarts.

Ingredients
for the pastry…
β€’ 250gms salted butter
β€’ 50gms icing sugar
β€’ 350 plain flour
β€’ 50gms corn flour
β€’ 2 egg yolks

Method
1. In a bowl, beat the butter and sugar, add the egg yolks and continue to whisk till thoroughly combined.
2. Slowly add the 2 flours and mix till you get a dough texture.

Now lets start putting things together!!

1. Before we begin, and to make things a tad easier…roll the jam into oval shapes so they are ready to be rolled into the pastry. This is a sticky, messy process!!!

IMG_6934.JPG
2. Place the dough in a piping bag using a flat nozzle and pipe long strips on greaseproof paper.
3. Place a jam roll and gently roll the pastry. You should get about 2 or 3 tarts in one long strip.

IMG_6927.JPG
4. Continue this process and place the tarts on a baking tray. Brush with egg wash and bake for 20 mins or until golden in a pre heated oven at 150 degrees C.

IMG_6602.JPG
5. Once ready, leave to cool on a wire rack before storing them in an air tight container.

IMG_6941.JPG

Now, with the size I made, I got about 100 mini Pineapple Tarts! Lol! So feel free to make them bigger as mine are tiny bite sized!

IMG_6939.JPG

They go perfectly with a cup of tea!

IMG_6614.JPG

Traditionally, they are flower shaped as you can see from the photo below courtesy of my mum’s good friend…

IMG_6497.JPG
…but because I do not have the proper cutter, I did it the rolled way instead without any difference in the taste.

I hope you will give it a try if you have the time and get a wee taste of what Eid is like in Singapore & Malaysia! Despite how painstakingly time consuming it was to make them, it was totally worth the effort!πŸ’›

Have a fabulous weekend ahead!

