Tags

, , , , , ,

I absolutely love tofu and each time I go back to Singapore, my grandma would make me either this delicious dish or Sambal Goreng which consists of tofu, tempeh, green beans combined with a beautiful chilli paste. I’ve not attempted to make Sambal Goreng…yet. Partly because I can’t find some of the ingredients here.

So, last weekend, I decided to make this dish of Tofu, Kangkung (water/river spinach) & Beansprouts, topped with a homemade slightly spicy peanut sauce. This is my grandma’s recipe and I love it!

IMG_0212.JPG

Ingredients
• Tofu (I bought the ready fried tofu to save time)
• Kangkung (water/river spinach)
• Beansprouts
• Groundnuts (with skin)
• Dark soy sauce
• Thick sweet soy sauce or brown sugar
• 1 red chilli (whole)
• 4 cloves of garlic (whole)
• 3 whole shallots or 1 small red onion, quartered

Method
1. In a hot skillet, add some sunflower oil and fry the whole garlic cloves, the shallots & the whole chilli. Once they are slightly soft, remove from the skillet onto some kitchen towel and set aside.
2. With the same now flavoured oil, fry the groundnuts till the skin turns brown. Drain on kitchen towel and repeat the process with the rest of the nuts. I used about 5 handfuls of groundnuts.
3. Place the garlic, shallots & the chilli in a blender, add some water & blitz till it becomes a puree. To that, add the peanuts, both soy sauces and continue to pulse the mixture. You want to keep the crunchy texture of the peanuts. (At this point, taste your peanut sauce until you think it’s perfect. A little sweet, yet a little spicy. If it’s too thick, just add more water and adjust the taste.)
4. If you have bought the ready fried tofu, heat them up in the oven for a few mins. I heated mine till they had that slight crunch.
5. All that aside, boil a pot of water and place the Kangkung in for about 5 to 6 mins or until they soften. They can be chewy if not cooked properly. Drain them, set aside & just blanch the beansprouts slightly.

You are now ready to plate and serve your Tahu Goreng!

IMG_0235.JPG

Tahu Goreng is usually served as a side dish but I personally love it on its own! Super yummy, lots of flavours & textures and best of all, with grandma’s recipe, you can never go wrong…Simply delicious!

Have a fabThursday to all!💛

